11/12/2004
'Ole Freckle-eye

It's two-for-one day at The Texan.

I went to the eye doctor a couple weeks ago, and he took photos of the insides of my eyes. One of them had what he called a "freckle" on it. More or less it's a hyperpigmented spot on my retina. He said it was nothing to worry about, since it was completely flat... but of course in all my years of hypochondria, I began picturing myself with a patch... or one of those fold-out canes... or making phone calls to my local county official to insist upon audible crosswalk signals in my neighborhood. Or trying to feel my way through a crowded bar (eww). I've also researched careers for the blind -- given that I would hardly be an effective web designer without sight.
Then I started thinking about what it would be like to date a 'person without sight' (that's what they prefer to be called)... Or to be a person without sight trying to date. All of the sudden all those "but he has a good personality" guys would be back in the running, I guess.

Just for fun, here are some of the medical problems I'd self diagnosed:Although I recognize my problem, it's nearly impossible to change it. I try, really I do.

It's ironic... my imagination is what makes me good at my job... but it's so strong that it has the ability to convince me that I'm having symptoms I may not even have.

Anyway... there actually IS something quirky going on with my vision, so I'll be heading back for another visit soon.

So if you get groped at a bar this weekend, don't be so insensitive. The groper may have a detached retina, cataracts... or worse... an eye freckle.


Diaryland.com