11/16/2004
Someone pee'd in the SBC Plaza...

Office
So yesterday the CEO of our company came to speak to our division. After 5 years as an independent entity, we're being absorbed into corporate. Those who've been here since the beginning are sad -- and understandably so. As for me, I was brought on board specifically to help tackle some of next year's 5 main initiatives... well, those initiatives may now be scrapped. I don't worry about having a job here... but I do worry that it will be the job I was hired to do. Boo on corporate change.

Yum
Iced eggnog latte at Starbucks. Highly recommended... unless of course you don't enjoy eggnog or coffee.

No Ho Ho
I declined my parents' offer to fly me home for Christmas, and instead I'll spend my very first Christmas alone. I have a friend who will be nearby for the holidays, so it won't be so bad. I didn't feel like dealing with all the hassle of traveling, gift-giving, routine-breaking, etc. Even if I spend the entire weekend crying by an empty stocking, it's probably worth avoiding DFW.

DDD
For the next two weekends, the Roundup Saloon is looking for Dolly look-alikes. Mrs. Parton is coming to town on her new tour, and is looking for some local Dollys.

I took my lunch to the SBC Plaza yesterday. Since it was drizzley and cold, there were plenty of open tables. I sat and consumed my lunch, watching the dirty, starving pigeons scrounge for food while questioning if I was catching the scent of urine when the wind blew. I probably won't eat my lunch there again until summer.

Pointless picture of the SBC building:

I'll try to put the camera phone to better use in the future.


Diaryland.com