11/17/2004
The sun'll come out... eventually.

As I was leaving the low-spirited office yesterday, I received a call from drinking buddy Brian. Although I wasn�t going to ditch the gym, alcohol seemed the logical remedy to the week�s problems thus far. Around 9 we headed to The Old Monk � a laid-back, Irish pub (straight). That was a nice way to kick off our night, since only the �B� bars were on the agenda for later in the evening. Conversation was kept light, drinks kept strong, and stresses primarily forgotten. I feel like crap today, but that�s what happens when you drink on a Tuesday night.

Spiderface
My first couple of weeks in the office had me becoming aware of the different, near-by personalities and voices. One such voice more than others... I overheard this woman discussing a bump on the side of her cheek. She was trouble-shooting it with everyone� �I don�t know what it is, but it�s getting more and more swollen.� No being able to see her, since she resides on the other side of the �cube wall�, made it more interesting. �I�m thinking it�s a spider bite. I�m going to the doctor today to find out.� Hours later, she returns to the office to fill everyone in on her medical diagnosis. It was, indeed, a spider bite. She detailed her medications, and word-for-word conversation with the doctor � to anyone who�d listen. I swear I heard the �I got bit by a spider� story 6 times that week. The following week simply chronicled the recovery process� in addition to the �what ifs� about what would have happened had she not gone to the doctor soon enough, etc. From then on, still not knowing her name, my mind screamed �shut up, spiderface, shut up� each time I�d hear her speak. For having never officially been introduced, I know more about her than anyone else here. Her son turned 14 the other day� he does his homework, but forgets to turn it in, she took a trip to Chicago two weekends ago (�well in Chicago� was how she started EVERY sentence for a week), and today� is picture day at her kids� school. She drove them so they wouldn�t get rained on and look a mess.

I�m going to the gym every day, eating a ton and keeping my apartment clean� all in an effort to keep my mind off the gray sky and frequent solitude. I�m struggling to maintain a positive attitude, really. Maybe I need something like this? (Click Here) It�s not creepy or sad at all.


Diaryland.com