11/18/2004
Nothing worth mentioning in the title...

Work
Having to stay up to handle some time-specific web publishes, I feel arriving at work an hour and a half late is acceptable. Having the stranger in the elevator make a reference to my �looking like I was packed for a big trip,� I politely replied �Nah� just a laptop and a lot of lunch.� His response, �Well that�s a big lunch for a guy like you!� Fighting the urge to reply, �I have a rare disease where if I don�t eat constantly, I�ll die� I instead smiled and said, �Heh� yeah I�m tryin� to put on a few pounds.� Quit making me feel bad, old man. I�m working on it!

I had an Outlook meeting request in my inbox when I arrived this morning� my boss is takin� me for drinks and food� to explain the future of our department under the new corporate structure. Sounds bad. He�s already strongly hinted that our youth initiative (getting to design for younger, cooler people) has likely been dropped. Um� that was one of the main things I was attracted to about this position. I hate this feeling.

I ran into �my first love� on the connexion.org site (it�s like friendster) last night. He lives in California now, which I knew, but is amazingly still single. He�s the type I figured would�ve been snatched up and married off by now. Hopefully we�ll be able to catch up soon. It�s been years since I�ve seen him.

After reading Emiloo�s entry today, I feel ungrateful complaining about what I'm sure will be a nice party. It's at a country club, some free drinks (2 I think), good food I'm sure, etc. Despite this, I am contemplating un-RSVP�ing, or at the very least, removing the ambitious �plus 1� that accompanies my name. I don�t want to go by myself, to be around a bunch of people I don�t know� but how else am I going to make office friends.

Urinal Guy
Admittedly, not one of the most attractive nicknames I�ve given someone, but nonetheless� the guy I mentioned the other day in the office who caught my attention at the urinal. Before you go �Eww, stop checking out coworkers in the restroom!�� realize I was checking HIM out, not it. He caught my eye because he�s cute, yes� but also because he stands weirdly. I was there with him again the other day, 2 urinals down (they are well-divided with little mini-walls, by the way)� anyway� he stands there, doing his business with his hands either on his hips, or folded across his chest. It�s not something you see too many guys do. I, for example, use one hand to keep clothing properly secured out of the way, while the other handles things. It�s almost like he�s showing off in some very weird way. It�s a little intriguing.

No pining or whining tomorrow, I promise.


Diaryland.com