11/23/2004
Pretty friends

I will be huge
With all my eating, I�m only consuming about 1800 calories a day (I need to be closer to 3000). I guess that�s because fresh fruits and vegetables, in addition to tuna, turkey meat, fat free milk, eggs, frosted mini-wheats and protein bars aren�t all that caloric. After a discussion with a friend last night, Muscle Milk was suggested. It�s a high-calorie protein drink that tastes great. Granted, it has more fat and sugar than most, but I�m not taking in much of either of those anyway. Blah, blah� enough enthralling diet talk.

Potluck is right
The HR lady in my office just got �mad� at me for not planning to attend the company thanksgiving/potluck lunch today. I guess ever since the news, I haven�t felt that mingling in the office was important. With a disappointing look, she said, �C�mon, you can go with me. You can meet some of the other website people.� � in other words �When they tear this division apart, you�ll need to see what your crappy new team will be like!� Boo. BOO, HR lady. I didn�t come here to work with the folks across the street.

Pretty friends�
It�s a double-edged sword, dating in the gay world. It�s hard to make friends unless they find you attractive, but if they find you attractive, they only want to hang around for hopes of dating. I do this, other guys do it� it�s just an unfortunate truth in M/M relations. I wish males weren�t so visual� un-hot straight guys always end up with hot girls� Because women take into account his personality and manners� we don�t get that luxury. For example, the guy who broke my heart when I first got here� looking back, I KNOW our personalities DID NOT fit� and never would. However� he is 6�4�, 210 and masculine. Tah dah. That�s all my primitive male mind could focus on.

It�s getting past that initial attraction that is almost always the difficulty in friendships. Sadly, but true in most cases, hooking up at least once is the solution. It puts an end to any sexual tension and answers any curiosities� providing both parties with some weird clarity and leaving the path cleared for growing a friendship. All this said, that�s where I am at the moment. In Dallas I�ve already been the one un-attracted to, as well as attracted to. It�s no fun for anyone, and part of what makes starting over somewhere so hard.

Jacked-up fixin�s
What about a girl in the office brought applesauce for the potluck? With marshmallows melted on top in a casserole dish. Is that the Texas version of sweet potatoes?

I saw some cranberry sauce slopped out on the sidewalk on my way to the gym the other day. Somewhere between a Nintendo repair center and Tanning salon, there it sat. Still jiggly. About 1/3 of a can.


Diaryland.com