12/02/2004
Mangled tongues and more parties

Upstairs from me, Nancy McBangsShitAround was apparently brushing up on her Morse code by tapping out War & Peace on the trashcan this morning. I assume she was emptying her vacuum canister. Hateyoo.

I think my tongue is too big for my mouth. Or I have too many teeth. Something. Bi-weekly it seems I wake up with a sore spot on my tongue -- before you jump to the STD conclusion, trust me, it's the way I sleep. I clench my jaw and sometimes my tongue wanders into harms way. I know. "Check out that guy with the mangled tongue... mmm... hot."

Does anyone have Lindsay Lohan's CD? Is it any good? I...um... have this friend... yeah, friend who was wondering.

Before my usual Wednesday night waste-of-time, 11pm-12pm work-related Web publish, I decided to go for a glass of wine� so to After Dark I went. I sipped my glass and watched cartoons on the flat panel TVs, while the hustle and bustle of straight partiers moved around me. The Young Couple (TYC) happened to be there, and approached for a hello. I sat with half of them on the patio, catching up on the week and making small talk. I was invited to another party this Saturday, and we discussed hanging out Friday, as well. I decided I�d attend my work Christmas party for an hour, maybe two� then we�d meet up later. Saturday, Varekai and dinner with a friend, joining TYC later in the evening for the party. I was somewhat warned about the patrons expected at Saturday�s party, reminded that Dallas is home to the $30,000 millionaire.

There�s a great pressure to keep up with the Jones� in this town� more so than others I�ve been � except maybe LA. A lot of people fall into the material trap here and are living well beyond their means. I�m trying to resist the urge to follow suit and avoid getting �sucked in� to that part of the local lifestyle. Thinking about this, I realize the heartbreaker is one of these types. He has a very nice apartment, that I believe he pays higher-than-what�s-comfortable rent, meanwhile I remember him going to pick up his pizza rather than having to tip a delivery guy. I also always got on to him for ordering �water� at restaurants, then filling his cup with Tea. I don�t want to be that guy.

I�ve always admired people who have the ability to be themselves around strangers. My best friend in Nashville, we�ll call him FreakyBoo, has that. I�ve watched him time and time again be immediately fun, relaxed and funny with people he�s just met. I, on the other hand, am too obsessed with perception. It ends up screwing me in the end, really. People start building who they think you are, and when you finally relax, they see something entirely different. It can make things better, or (in the case of The Heartbreaker) they may not be attracted to who they get to know.

So tonight Tall Friend and I are going drinking. We always have fun and go to weird places� I�m sure tonight will be no different. As a matter of fact, I want to go somewhere really weird. Weird sounds good.


Diaryland.com