12/03/2004
Around the world in 80 bars...

I knew last night was gonna be good when, while doing shoulders at the gym, I felt a sharp nudge in my back� only to turn and see noneother than The Heartbreaker� walking by with his Trainer. He smiled, I said �oh, hey� in a good-to-see-you-but-not-that-good way, and continued my workout. We both remained focused on our workouts and I didn�t even try to look for him until I was leaving. He was on the treadmill as I continued past him on my way out the door. Maybe it was testosterone, self-confidence from knowing my muscles were bulging, or just the fact that I�m almost over him� but I left feeling good.

The Tall Friend picked me up shortly after 8, and was well-prepared with a list of bars to tackle. This night would be good.

The Doublewide
With its wood-panel walls, hideous artwork, patio tables-made-of-tires, and roof-mounted faux tornado, this trailer-themed hangout was a welcome change to the strip. We sat on garage sale-like furniture, sipping our drinks and taking in the sights. When warmer weather arrives, the patio at this place is just begging to be revisited. I finished my first Redbull and vodka, and we were off again�

Bar of Soap
Just around the block was Bar of Soap, a Laundromat-bar. While Tall Friend ordered the drinks, I perused the premises� igniting with joy when I discovered this behind some washing machines. A few games and a sore arm later, I triumphed in victory. Finishing our drinks, I hid my half-full Redbull in my sock as we proceeded to the next stop.

Minc
Usually a pretentious, predominantly gay hang-out, you could almost hear the clich�, reality-show �record scratch� when we walked in. Apparently, Thursday night is straight, African-American night. We opted to try again another night� maybe when we weren�t feeling quite as sore-thumbish.

Gilley�s
The last straight stop of the evening, we arrived at Gilley�s� a warehouse-sized Country/Western bar. Huge. Huge, I say. After watching some mechanical bull riding, guessing at the cuteness level of the cowboy-hatted on-stage performer (the stage seemingly a football field�s length away), and downing yet another drink, we were ready to gayize the evening, and head to the strip.

JR�s
By this time, it was probably 11, which is a nice time to be at JR�s on a Thursday. In the upstairs bar, just as we were concluding a conversation about the recent Dallas attractiveness drought, we were broadsided by a monsoon of sexy. From all sides. Out of nowhere. One hotter-than-hail fella (that was a stretch, yeah) caught my eye.

Sexy McNumbers
EXACTLY what I like. This short, stocky, buzzed-headed, masculine guy took a break from his hot friends and made eye contact with me. Then again. With a smile. A brief conversation and a phone number exchange left me re-energized for the rest of the evening. He�s probably 5�4�, 155 lbs, sexy eyes, cute grin. He�s a student in finance, recently departed from a three-year relationship, and 26 years old. Hee hee. Giddy little school girl, I am.

The Round Up
Why the Tall, non-country-enjoying Friend suggests The Round Up as our next visit, I don�t know. He hates it. He always hates it. I requested and happily sang along to three songs, and then we left quickly.

The nameless �B� bars�
The last stop on our liver-pickling tour (for those of you STILL reading) took us to some of the seedier hangouts� nothing eventful happened here, but it was a nice close to the evening. I was dropped off shortly thereafter, waking feeling like hell� as only a night drinking with the Tall Friend can do. : )

Last night was a much needed kick out of this as-of-late rut. An outstanding start to an event-filled weekend. I have 3 parties, a circus and a hottie to attend to.

Maybe Texas isn�t so bad. : )


Diaryland.com