12/09/2004
Lesbian Book Club

Since I moved here I�ve been out of the habit of watching television. I�ve also not spent much time online. I prefer to go out to do something, instead. Last night, for instance� I went to the Oaklawn Starbucks for a decaf Chai Latte and to read the little gay paper. Between the nine million ads (some hilarious, but that�s another entry), there are some decently interesting reads, in addition to an events calendar. There seems to be a little something for everyone. Asian men, late bloomers, obese men, a men�s chorale and a million other things. They also have a gay men�s book club and one for the lesbians, too. I could imagine the differing selections: Whispering Pecs vs. Diesel Dianne: The Heart-wrenching Tale of a Girl Named �Hoss.� If I could commit to reading a book, this might be fun.

I wore my ugly glasses to work today. By ugly glasses, I mean my only pair of glasses. These are the kind of glasses some kid in a third-world country would receive from a Barnes and Noble �donate your old glasses� drive. Don't look at me.

In response to Greedyloo's Emiloo's request, I'm posting my, much shorter, Christmas list:

MP3 Player
For the longest time, my PDA has served as my MP3 player, however, for the gym, it's simply too fragile. It takes very little to crack a PDA screen, and with as much time as I've spent in the gym lately, it's time to take the plunge. After reading a million reviews, I have decided on the Samsung YPT5V. It's dainty enough to wear around my neck or on my charm bracelet.

StrongBad DVDs (roughly 38.00 after shipping)
There is a large underground following of Strongbad. While at school, my Real-Time 3D teacher introduced us to this character... I fell in love. If you've never been to homestarrunner.com, please go and check out the "StrongBad emails" (You'll need audio). I suggest starting with some of the earlier episodes, rather than the new. It takes watching a few episodes to get the humor. Anyway, they have the first 100 emails/episodes on DVD now.

Mystery Science Theater Set 1 (roughly 52.00 after shipping)
These are always good for a lonely Saturday night, or as background for drinks and couch-side conversation with friends.

Mystery Science Theater Set 2 (roughly 52.00 after shipping)

Pottery Barn Gift Certificate (Any amount -- I need new glassware)
My glassware is all 'etched' (a term I learned from a Cascade commercial), and it needsa replacin'.

Bluetooth Folding Keyboard (roughly 135.00 after shipping)
For the unaware, I'm a PDA/Gadget junkie. This would allow me to more easily compose emails, diary entries or instant message while away from my computer. Geeeeek.

One last thing (roughly a 12 pack of beer)
One of the more-difficult-to-acquire items, no doubt, but I've been very good this year.

And I was kidding about the charm bracelet.


Diaryland.com