12/13/2004
Home is your friends

So I just dropped Emmarae off at DFW, after our short, but fun weekend. Dinner at The Young Couple�s restaurant was nice, although our server wasn�t terribly attentive. I enjoy supporting TYC, but dining/drinking there too frequently will undoubtedly break daddy�s bank. I was glad Emmarae was able to meet them.

After dinner, we headed to the strip. JR�s was nothing spectacular; however Sue Ellen�s was a bit more fun. I didn�t realize how pretty the lesbians were here. Not to unfairly stereotype, but in Nashville the lesbians are more of the� let�s say� diesel mechanic type. Here, however, the place was filled with the straight-guy fantasy material. Cute little bodies with sexy clothes and hair� definitely more lipstick than biker. As expected, Emmarae drew quite a few looks from the ladies.

Our final stop on the mini tour was The Roundup. Crowded, but fun, we spent the most time there. I was wearing a ballcap, which allowed me to keep my head low and seem a little mysterious, I guess. I think hanging with a hot girl upped my real estate value considerably. Before leaving we chatted with Redwood. A 6�8� kinda attractive guy. He was very polite and friendly with Emmarae, and then to me. Inquiring about our sexual orientations, he was pleased with both our answers. His genuine compliments to Emmarae made him that much more attractive, and seemingly southern. Very much a gentleman. He also slipped a compliment my way once or twice, but shortly after we departed. I expect to see Redwood again at some point. He�s pretty easy to spot.

We attended a party for a local �celebrity� last night. There were a few hot guys filling the place, although the one I was most interested in turned out to be a little boring after a brief chat. Emmarae didn�t fail to remind me (for the rest of the night) how I accidentally slammed his love for reading the newspaper (I believe my comment was �Really? I wish they would just do away with paper altogether�), we said our goodbyes and called it a night.

We also toured the grassy knoll this weekend. We saw the 2 �X�s on the street, marking the spot where the famous assassination took place. We pondered the true significance of the second X and decided it represented the other tragedy that day. Jackie�s beautiful outfit ruined by spatter. Tragedy indeed.

Having a best friend visit from Nashville made Dallas more like home to me. It made me realize I feel more settled than I thought. I have another friend who�ll be in town this week, and the following week yet another. This time of year is better when you�re busy, distracted and with good friends. When you�re single, anyway.


Diaryland.com