12/14/2004
Prom

So I�m trying to design this (rather small and insignificant) promotion for Prom Promise, which has led me to browsing Yahoo! Images for some prom-related photos. For instance, here is Charlene Harris in the less popular, prom rocking chair pose. I couldn�t help but notice Charlene is sitting alone. But here�s my favorite so far. Not to be dirty old man, or anything, but I�ve also been clicking on the ones where I think the guys are cute. Yeah, I know the guys are in HIGH SCHOOL� but 17 is legal in Texas.

As for my own prom experience� I went to 3. Freshman, sophomore, and junior. What can I say� Popular with the ladies. Or something. Anyway, by senior prom I was bored, pretty much gay, and counting the days until graduation. I stayed home and still don�t regret it.

As a junior, I had asked my then girlfriend-turned-friend to go � mainly because she wanted to. For whatever reason, the next week, I tried to back out. Of course I NOW understand that Prom is a big deal to girls (especially since she was a sophomore)� but it�s not like she�d bought her dress yet� anyway� in one of my more poetic moments, I tried to explain how going to Prom was like drinking a glass of maggots. Seriously. NO IDEA how or why I explained it this way, but all I know is that my analogy was perfectly accurate and clear at the time. To me. I ended up giving in (she cried � I know, I�m horrible)� and we were able to put the wiggly larvae behind us and have a decent time that year. Actually, no� I remember thinking �I�m not doing this next year� frequently throughout the evening. Memories.

She knows all about me these days, and we�ve run into each other on occasion� as expected, it was she who remembered and reminded me of �the maggots.� At least she knows it had nothing to do with her personally. : )

I�m getting re-caught-up in the blog world. I keep finding new people to read from people I�ve always read. It�s weird that a few paragraphs from total strangers become things you look forward to each day.

Work Stuff
Friday, one of the heads of our division pulled me into his office to discuss where I�m going to fall in the �new organization.� Expecting the worst, I was pleasantly surprised at what I learned. I was pretty blunt regarding the company�s overall poor Internet presence, and more or less said �I was brought here to fix it, and I want to make sure that�s still the plan.� He assured me of such, more or less, and said that in 6 months, if things aren�t on their way to the aforementioned, he will have failed� and that he�d expect I�d leave. He said he doesn�t like to fail and doesn�t want to lose me� which sounded like a very upper-management thing to say. Then he asked if I�d also be interested in �mentoring� some of our other design staffers. I did like the sound of that. : ) Maybe it was his �you�re the best, champ� ego-stroking, or his �don�t jump ship yet� plea. Either way, I�m on board for at least 6 more months. It could be great, or it could suck. Either way it gives me 6 more months to A) find a sugar daddy or B) win the lottery, or just C) Find a better job. Honestly, I feel like there�s potential to make this into something pretty good.

Office Gnome
There�s this little guy in the office who reminds me of something that would jump out from behind a tree in an enchanted forrest playing a flute. He looks like a grown man, but skinny and short� like a smaller version of a grown man. He�s all nervous energy.

I arrived at around 10am this morning. The girl at the front desk was all �What kinda schedule are you on? You�ve been getting here later and later every day.� With my tired, unhappy morning face, I turned and replied �Well, I�m one of the people who�s job has been pretty significantly affected by the reorganization, so I don�t have a lot to do right now, and so it�s hard to find motivation to arrive early.� She got all quiet and �Oh� I�m sorry� I don�t know anything about that. I was just joking.� Yeah, you don�t, do you. Keep your mouth shut or next time I�ll make you cry.

Oh� my mom had difficulty buying my Christmas present -- MP3 player � online, so she told me to buy it and she�d send me a check. Works for me. I bought it last night. LOVE IT.


Diaryland.com