01/03/2005
A new year, etc, etc.

Modest resolutions
  1. Save what I can (money-wise).
  2. Gain 5 to 15 lbs. Obviously, there�s a considerable difference between these two, but since I�m already plateauing sub 160, 165 is probably a more reasonable weight-gain goal.
  3. Travel, despite it�s possible interference with resolution #1.
  4. While pursuing #3, take a train at least once. Preferably one with a bar-car.
  5. Make my name and skills known within the company.
  6. Make the office environment fun (not just for me).
  7. Investigate returning to school� to work toward a normal-people, bachelor degree in something like marketing or human factors / usability design. NO MORE ART-RELATED CLASSES.
  8. Volunteer somewhere.
  9. Get a passport.
The Date
The date with VGL on Thursday went well� I ended up making a mess of things because I couldn�t find the restaurant and ultimately it became too late to visit the sculpture museum. Despite my screwupery, things turned out well and we watched SpiderMan 2 at my place later. Since things went well, we decided to spend NYE together also. Watching some Mystery Science Theater �shorts� (the importance of grooming, what happens to cheaters, etc), having a couple drinks and then watching The Manchurian Candidate (recommended), we missed the actual midnight moment, but neither of us were devastated. Although he�ll be living in Dallas / Fort Worth this summer, he has another year of law school to go� meaning he lives about 5 hours from Dallas most of the time. For that reason, our dating probably won�t become exclusive or serious.

Albertson�s on Lemmon
Hate it. Overcrowded, under-stocked and bad produce. Seriously, how do you run out of eggs? Or yogurt? And if you�re repeatedly running out of particular items, why wouldn�t you increase the frequency of shipments? Hatechoo. I even had a dream that I bitched out the manager about the egg shortage and lack of yogurt. No more.

Club One
Saturday night I joined TYC and a friend of theirs for movie night. We rented Saved! (highly recommended) and Mean Girls. We didn�t get to see much of Ms. Lohan, since we decided to dance our way through the rest of the evening by attending a muscle-boy party at Club One. This club is only open on occasion, and caters to a crowd I generally avoid. The built-but-tweaked-out muscle boys. By boys I mean men who refuse to grow up. These are professional partiers, if you will. The music is deafening, dance floor sweaty, attendees shirtless and the most popular drink is bottled water. I redbull-and-vodka�d my way to a rare, high-energy mood and danced the night away.

At one point, while standing to the side of the dancing biceps, I was approached by a fag-hag who had appeared to have misplaced her better half. She inquired as to my orientation and then why I remained shirted. I politely broke her heart and moved on.

The one guy I was interested in turned out to be a former �dick dancer.� Figures.

I�m glad the holidays are over and schedules are returning to normal.


Diaryland.com