01/10/2005
The Tex Signal...

So the update comes a little late today� stupid work got in the way.

Friday night with VGL
His interview lasted until about 8:30pm, therefore dinner plans were scrapped and instead we decided to meet at the bar (the friends he was staying with were going, they live far out, so it was best, really). Hanging out with someone you�re interested in at the bar is a bad idea� you�re constantly compared to everyone else, and whether intentional or not, you�re checking out others and they�re checking you out. Blgh. So� in all my years of gay experience (a PHD�s worth, really), I decided I�d pull out the big guns � and I don�t mean the 'ceps. At home, prior to departure, after closing the blinds, I approached the mantle and twisted the candlestick -- the fireplace spun and spotlight shone� there it was� the pressurized glass chamber containing my size-too-small Wranglers, dusty brown cowboy boots, starched light blue button-down oxford and black felt hat. Suiting up, I slid down the pole to TheTexan Mobile, and turbo-thrusted my way to The Round Up. I had to ensure I�d be the greenest grass tonight.

I noticed him first� walked up and leaned down on the bar next to him� giving him a slight nudge. He turned and smiled when he realized it was me� we hugged and less-than-slyly glanced the other up and down. I complimented him, and he me. The rest of the night was nice. Unlike The Heartbreaker, VGL has no problem expressing his thoughts or feelings� it�s refreshing and comfortable� and reminded me how dating should be.

I may be riding with TYC to Lubbock this weekend where I�ll stay with VGL� the catch being he lives with straight guys, and he isn�t out. I�ll be pretending to be straight and sleepin� on the couch. Not ideal circumstances, but spending time is spending time� so what if we have to keep any affection on the DL. Hmm. Never thought I�d put myself in that situation again.


Diaryland.com