01/20/2005
Ring, phone, ring!

Greetings from the corporate Hindenburg. My interview went well Tuesday, however I�ve yet to hear back for what was supposedly an urgent position. I'm an impatient, nervous wreck. I�ll assume I�m not getting the job if I don�t hear back by tomorrow. After having a glimpse into what a cool, organized, packed-with-talent, innovative company looks like, this place is just that much more miserable.

While dining at the nearby sub shop last week, I saw a 40-year-old, overweight version of the old Pepsi girl.

We had a fire drill here yesterday. I�ve never quite experienced a company fire drill like ours. We walk down the four flights of stairs, cross the street (but only at the crosswalk), and have �roll� taken in the parking lot. The embarrassing part is the department-appointed �Fire Marshall� girl whom is a little Wal-Mart-stock-room-employee-esq. She has bad 80�s hair, highwaters, hightops and a growly-yet-pitchy lesbian-like yell. As we congregate in the parking lot, parallel to our faux burning building, she screams our names. Much like a 3rd grade field trip, we respond with �here� or �present.� It�s embarrassing when all of the other building tenants are watching and holding back their smirks� they�re smaller companies, law firms mainly, who are amused by our grade school event. I'm to that point where I'm beginning to get irritated with EVERY aspect of this place.

There�s a guy at work who keeps trying to buddy up with me� �Let�s go drink� or �Lets go work out together� or �We�re going to be working together quite a bit, so we should get to know eachother!� That�s all well and good, and I appreciate the gesture� but to talk about our future work plans would involve a lot of pretending to care, interest in my job, and lies regarding my seeking other employment. I just have to stall for a few more days. I hope.


Diaryland.com