02/17/2005
D & D Advertising (minus the glamour and frosted hair)

Out of control. I finished the creative comps for our execs' big NY meeting, and they were emailed just before 6. I was scolded by our head of creative, then she later apologized... for bitching me out over something out of my control, in my second week on the job, without even having ever formally introduced herself. Nice. It's a good thing the apology made it's way out before my overworked head blurted out something rather unprofessional and possibly career-limiting. Kicking her in the face crossed my mind more than once.

At one point, there were literally 8 people standing behind watching me scramble to make last minute changes to the comps. Although my Photoshop skills are quite mad, with an audience they're considerably clumsy. I've always been warned by other designers about the ad agency environment. The stress, the hours, etc. All the free rootbeer in the world couldn't make up for today's kinda stress.

I've ceased my weight-gaining efforts temporarily, and it's made me feel pretty gross. I'm not eating consistently and am struggling to maintain 165. I keep panicking over my fat stomach -- granted it's gay fat, it's still unpleasant to me. I'm certain it's only a matter of months before they have to tear down a wall and haul me from the apartment on a tarp.

Rather than asking, I politely declared to my boss that I'd be in late tomorrow. Daddy goin' out for some drinks and hair-letting-down time. The Heartbreaker will most likely be joining me.

From one torturous situation to another.


Diaryland.com