03/11/2005
Of veneers and past flings...

Last night at the gym I was almost certain I saw -- well, his nickname is a little vulgar, so we'll just refer to him as "This-guy-from-Atlanta-that-I-um-uh-"Spent time with"-on-more-than-one-occasion-and-to-this-day-is-THE-HOTTEST-man-I've-EVER-um-"Spent time with." Without blowing my semi-straight cover, I kept checking him out... trying to verify. Then he caught me looking, so I had to do the nod-and-acknowledge then avoid him the rest of the time. Maybe it wasn't him, but it sure brought back some good memories.

I picked up the latest LeAnn Rimes CD last week. I love Mrs. Rimes, I do... but a couple things. Enunciate. These mystery lyrics wear me out. Secondly, and more superficially, I'm not getting used to her new teeth. Sometimes I see pictures and am all "Ooh, she looks really good... yeah, her teeth look really good." And other times I can't see anything but her teeth. I don't remember anything wrong with them in the first place.

I've been spending my days in the office a little angry and over-stressed. I've put in a request to my boss for him to forward me the last 4 or 5 major multimedia pieces we've cranked out. I'm anxious to review the quality. I'm expecting to find pretty decent quality, but nothing terribly innovative. If that's the case, I can argue extended turn-around times on our Flash projects.

I find myself already contemplating new cities in which to live, new career possibilities, whether or not I should pursue the 'normal people' 4-year college degree, etc. It's funny... how frequently I encounter people with a traditional college education, who don't enjoy their work, and who tell me how much they'd love to do what I do for a living (multimedia design). This is always flattering to hear. Yet, there are plenty of others who inquire of my education, and upon their realization that my school is not one they've heard of, and that it's a 'technical school,' they give me the kind of look that would better accompany the response of "I ain't never'd go'd to kolledge. But I got my G.E.D. reaaalll good."

My boss told me, despite what he's been telling me prior to my hire, they're making all of the designers switch to Macs. The news killed my motivation and I sat around pissed most of the day. Of course I'll do my best to get up to speed, and within a few months I'll be as fast on a Mac as a PC, but I'm irritated, nonetheless. I'm not the ONLY designer who prefers a PC, and their reasoning for a full conversion is weak.

It's finally going to be a beautiful weekend in Dallas. I might attempt tennis with The Crazy Co-Worker, possibly attend the big St. Patrick's parade on Greenville Avenue, will definitely venture out to watch the gays play some softball, and who knows what else. Having rid myself of my three-letter acronym men, I'm feelin' pretty optimistic about the next few days.


Diaryland.com