03/28/2005
Lettuce will ruin your life.

A simple misunderstanding during the daily coffee buy, I mis-overheard a guy telling his friend "...lettuce will ruin your life." Actually, he said "You can't let it ruin your life," but my interpretation was a way better start to the day. I spent the remainder of my coffee wait thinking of creative heart-wrenching stories of how lettuce might ruin a life. "And when they found me there, alone, huddled up in the closet with nothing but a turnip and some salad tongs... I knew I needed help. Lettuce was ruining my life."

I always end up with a stupid grin in the coffee shop.

I need to clarify something about The Rugged. It was his blonde old friend, Chatty Kathi-with-an-i doing the drugs during my weird night. Also, she's not someone he knows well... she owns a dog walking business and they met that way. Or somethin'. However, after hanging out with him some this weekend (he called ME for the record), I don't doubt that he once partied pretty hard. But he's a sweet guy... to me... but I'm weary of his past.

In the beginning when you're getting to know someone you find attractive... if they begin paying a million compliments... you tend to question or think less of them. Or I think less of them. Subconsiously. More in the sense of "Well if this person thinks I'm so great, what's wrong with them?? It's only those who never tell us they find us attractive, or like our eyes, or Britney dance mix collections-- that we obsess over and long for. I'm sure those with healthier minds aren't trapped in this paradoxial loop of disappointment and hurt... but for the other messy-minded, you relate.

Work is fun for the next few weeks... I'm creating a paper dolls-like application in flash. Designing for pre-teen girls is always fun as a gay man. Although coding the backend of a closet full of goodies to apply to a perfectly-proportioned 20-something isn't quite as fun as dressing her, it's definitely fun stuff.

Romantically screwy, but professionally rewarded.


Diaryland.com