04/24/2005
And he walked in...

Sometimes you meet certain people and you feel as though they're going to affect you somehow. You're almost certain they're going to be important to you in some way.

I met such a man tonight. The evening was nearly over. Decked in my too-tight 'magic' wranglers, dusty brown boots and spankin' new Stetson, I was in line for a jump start (my typical shot of yager and a bud light used to kick in a buzz and a grin) at the Round Up. There he was... closing his tab... shaved head, older guy... slim-to-average build, converse tennishoes, jeans, casual-yet-stylish jacket... and with someone I thought was his boyfriend. Surely a man with a face like this, hypnotic eyes, melt-inducing smile and casual-but-humble confidence couldn't be single? -- I uncharacteristcally and energetically said "hello" as he passed closely by... he looked, playing no games, grinned, and said "hello, how are you?" in return. I smiled and replied simply. Nervous, I turned back to await my turn in the drink line... he walked away with the guy whom I now assumed to be just a friend. I turned back to see him once more, and smiled with a nod... he matched my smile and nod. Moments later, however... I turned back to see him for a third time, but he was gone.

I thought about it as I walked around... irritated with myself for not approaching him. But then, a good 10 minutes after I'd last seen him... there he was again. Knowing I was being given a second chance, I approached immediately and conversation flowed smoothly for a good 15 minutes. Within that conversation he mentioned having left... and being a good distance down the street when he felt he had to come back... he wanted to talk to me. The conversation ended in a phone number exchange and bar departure for each of us.

He has one of those rare faces that seem to be filled with depth, kindness, sincerity, intelligence and just an overall 'something.'

Everything else
Aside from the magic man, things are pretty much the same. My two/three week writing break has been due to a work overload. I'm simply too busy to write in the AM as of late, so evening Starbucks Wifi sessions might be my only future option. To catch everyone up, I've been to Houston and Austin since I last wrote. Nothing much to report.

I can't wait to call this guy.


Diaryland.com