05/02/2005
Bizzy Man

A rather packed weekend.

The weekend kicked off with dinner for one at Sushi Sapporo on Oak Lawn. Some fresh and perfectly textured raw delight later, my bottle of Sake was empty, and my wallet was about 60 bucks lighter. Sometimes you just have to treat yourself.

I spent the rest of the evening having (yet more) wine with friends and crashing in their spare bedroom.

Saturday was off to another lonely start... a table for one at Cafe Brazil on Cedar Springs (Cedar Springs = gay street) followed by a trip to Starbucks. I later conned a friend into mattress shopping with me, since for whatever reason, I was scared to go alone. It worked out well, since he's quite the business man, and was able to talk the price down to my range -- including tax and delivery. Yay for bidness-minded, good-at-haggling friends.

Next stop, the Nasher Sculpture Center. I'd been wanting to see this place for awhile, since sculpture is my favorite form of art. The center itself was very nice, in addtion to a few really cool pieces. I went ahead and purchased a membership which will allow me unlimited visits with a guest for a year. I thought it'd be a nice way to spend an hour or so when friends come to visit.

Yesterday began with helping The Other Half TYC transport and set up some things for some sort of gay lawyer meeting at a 15 million dollar house off Park lane. Um, the kitchen on the back of the grounds was as large as my entire apartment, and it's sole purpose was to allow the caterer a place to cook for parties. Nice.

Later, I went house-hunting with my aforementioned bidness-minded friend. He does quite well for himself, so we got to look at pretty cool places. I departed his company shortly thereafter and returned to my humble apartment for some time by the pool.

While at the pool, Magic man called (as he said he would), and I invited him over. We drank beer by the pool for an hour, then walked for icecream at Marble Slab. We slowly strolled back to my apartment for some TV time. I introduced him to The Family Guy, and was thrilled when he got the humor and laughed the entire way through it. Good sign.

During Extreme Makeover: Home Edition we sat quitely, fighting back tears while the home owner who'd lost his sight ran his hand across a stone wall (stone that his father had hand-picked for the fireplace of their previous house) now in his living room. I looked at Magic Man as he rhetorically asked if they were trying to make us cry. He glanced at me with a big grin as his eyes were red and full of tears. It was adorable.

He watched Desperate Housewives with me -- thoroughly enjoying it, having never watched before -- and then prepared to leave. Our hug goodbye turned into a long kiss... topped off with his ever-melting grin as he thanked me for the wonderful afternoon and evening.

The pleasure was all mine.


Diaryland.com