08/25/2005
Is that vomit on your wrist brace?

So I may not be able to write again like I thought. Unlike most of my disease/horrible affliction scares, I'm fairly certain I have the beginnings of carpal tunnel. This one would actually be more logical than my previous self-diagnosis' of breast cancer (small rash), pelvic cancer (back out of alignment), Rush Limbaugh disease (sinus congestion), TMJ/Jaw Cancer (bacterial infection in a hair follicle) or macular degeneration (eye floaters). I've been designing for nearly 10 years now... spending most days on the computer over 10 hours.

For the last couple months I've been wearing wrist braces while I slept and occasionally at work (I know, HOT!), as that seems to be sufficient for some people with Carpal Tunnel. It helps some, but I still get mighty uncomfortable after working briefly. I started reading more about it the other day online, and nearly threw up at my desk out of worry.

As could be expected, I've already purchased an ergonomic keyboard and have become super-conscious of my working posture.

On a side note, a nice distraction was dinner last night with a fellow I'd met from online. Like myself, he doesn't live here, and travels quite often with work. We dined on oily (everything) noodles at P.F. Changs, had easy and steadily flowing conversation, then he walked me to my car. We're going out again tonight, which excites me. With my new situation, I could theoretically date someone who lived anywhere. This fine gentleman currently resides in Seattle. He's a military man, so the closet is part of the package as well.

Swollen Median Nervily Yours,
Tex


Diaryland.com