10/05/2005
I drove all night.

New time zone, new gym, new workspace and yes, already a celebrity sighting.

I won't elaborate on the cross-country drive from Dallas to Los Angeles, other than I WILL NOT be doing it again for a LONG, LONG time... nor will I do it alone. Dousing one's head in bottled water and reciting the lyrics to every Garth Brooks song ever recorded aren't ideal methods of staying awake, but they work. Sleeping a few midnight hours in my car at a rest stop, then an hour in a McDonald's parking lot feels creepy and unnerving at best.

Arriving in L.A. I felt comfort. Not from the traffic, but my friends, their familiar apartment and, well... the weather. Finding a gym yesterday helped, although getting lost in search of Starbucks seemed a little ridiculous. I realized had I tried to move here years ago, I wouldn't have been ready and the town would've eaten me alive. I feel better prepared and more self-confident in my old age ... not afraid of the petty pretty people.

And the celebrity sighting was Sean Hayes... at a redlight. He's one of the same celebrities I saw on my last visit.


Diaryland.com