November 12, 2004
New Town

Armed with mediocre writing skills and new city surroundings, I again embark on journal-keeping.

Semi-freshly relocated to Dallas, the struggles of a new city have been much more difficult than my 17-month stint in Orlando.

Surroundings:
My brief stay in the 'Studio Plus' extended-stay motel was less-than-luxurious to say the least. Shortly after the night I found a frog in the hallway, I met some friends-of-an-Orlando-friend who allowed me to stay rent-free in their rather impressive condo. They're a great couple of guys who have been together for six years, and have actually now become my parents away from home.
I finally moved into my own place about a month ago, and am starting to feel more comfortable here.

Socially:
I originally intended on avoiding the dating scene until I was settled... by accident I was introduced to someone who became a friend, then someone I was dating, and now somewhat of a heartache. Uncharacteristically, this guy is too frequently in my thoughts, and I'm sad when I leave him. -- I've been rejected plenty before... but for some reason this one stings pretty bad.
Other than him, other friends are slow going. There's a "high-tech happy hour" I'll be attending tonight to mingle with the other geeky gays. I've been once before, and it was surprisingly crowded and pocketprotectorless.

The Job:
So far, so good. Socially, I'm bored... since my current project involves phoenix-based clients, and it leaves me little reason to mingle with the office locals.
I think it's just part of Dallas, but I work with some seriously attractive women. Young, smart, trendy and mostly married. Health and vanity are prominent qualities with the young folk in this town. Not that I'm complaining. As for the hot fellas in the office? Not so much. Except for this guy I saw at the urinal the other day...


Diaryland.com