02/09/2005
typical jealous gay man

I haven't yet figured out my ideal entry-writing time, so currently I do it before work. Makes for shorter entries (the crowd cheers).

I began work on something cool yesterday for a big name hotel client of ours. After being told the deadline, I understand why they have basketball, dogs-in-the-office, and free carbonated drink dispensers (like what you'd see at Taco Bell or McDonalds).

Yesterday there was an all-day theme party centered around Fat Tuesday. Each employee was given beads, and a 'secret word' was announced every two hours. If you were able to make another coworker say that word, you obtained their beads. At around 4:30, there was a Fat Tuesday party where the King and Queen were announced. There was also a cooler full of beer. Seriously... sippin' on a beer walkin' around the office is good stuff.

I stopped by the now-completely-set-up cube of Parking Lot Hottie -- his new name will be Network Hottie (since his job is more relevant than where I first saw him). Anyway, after complimenting his fun cube, I noticed something... yes... my 'dar was on target... I saw a beautiful picture of him and another man, front and center on his desk. It was apparently their wedding day photo. It made me happy for a variety of reasons.

Later, as walking the halls (beer in hand), I noticed a dog tied to a cubicle while her owner attended the shindig. Have I mentioned how much I love this place??

I encountered hottie # 2 later, as well. I'm almost certain he is married to a man also. This is all great, but somewhere between there and my drive home I slipped into depressed/jealous mode... feeling isolated, realizing I still have very few friends here, few dating prospects, blah, blah. The mood snowballed until I took a xanax and went to bed at 10. I need some social balance.


Diaryland.com