09/14/2005
Wad

Monday night, after returning my horribly textured microwaved grilled chicken sandwiches to Wendy's, I opted to dine across the street at Macaroni Grill. It was 9ish, empty... and my sweet little Asian server (her Asian-ness is relevant) seated me in a cozy little corner booth. As the servers do there, she took a crayon and quickly wrote her name on the edge of the paper tablecloth. I, lost in my menu, didn't pay attention to her as she mumbled some things, and disappeared to fetch my drink. While waiting I glanced at the name she had written and spent a few perplexed moments figuring out how to pronounce what I saw.

Wad

Wad??? Is that pronounced "Wod" or "Wahd" or "Waad"? I know Asian folks often have unique names, but I was strugglin' with this one. You could imagine how ridiculous I felt when I realized she had written it upside down to face me, not her.

Yes, sweet Pam had written her name upside down.


Diaryland.com