12/15/2004
Learned & Fancy

Guess who kept her damn mouth shut when I arrived this morning? Yep.

I dined with Half The Young Couple last night. The Other Half was out of town. During our meal, he found it humorous that I tried to eat an olive (non-seedless) by using a knife to cut it open and pry out the seed. Although I�ve eaten seeded olives before, it�s been awhile and I forgot how. I guess I ain�t as learned and fancy as he is.

Mid-way through our meal, a couple of his friends walked in� one of which I found rather attractive. After an introduction, it turned out that we�d met before at one of the recent million parties. I vaguely remembered. Actually, we work for the same company. He works in web development as well, but for a division that will (supposedly) benefit from the changes taking place here. Nice, huh. He inquired about the changes, so I gave him a 5-second summary. He replied with �Well it�s about time!� � um, dude� don�t make me dislike you so early in the game.

It�s funny how people behave so differently in work mode vs. hangin� out mode. For that moment, I wasn�t thinking about his attractiveness, if I wanted to ask him out, etc� he became an irritating co-worker for a split second, until we realized the slight tension and snapped back to acquaintance-at-a-restaurant mode.

Later in the meal he was inquiring about business at After Dark with Half, and jokingly suggested making me the shot boy. I was flattered by the remark, and it gave me the he-thinks-I�m-cute-too information I was curious about. Half invited me to yet another party this weekend, in which I�m sure dude will be in attendance.

Half also invited me to join his committee in the Well-To-Do People�s Club. I guess that means I�ll sew costumes for yearly pageants or participate in shirtless carwashes. Or something. It�s a good cause, really, and something I�d like to be a part of.

I I-Tune�d Lindsay Lohan�s CD, Rumors, this weekend. It�s not all that I�d hoped it be. Is it possible that I no longer relate to the problems of the average, in love / out of love, jet-set, ridiculously wealthy, media-saturated, bubble-gum pop singing teenage girl?

Surely not.


Diaryland.com