02/07/2005
New office digs...

My first day in the new professional digs is off to a great start. Arriving in the parking lot, I noticed one hell of a hottie depart the vehicle next to mine and enter the building. Later, I realized he is also a new employee. There were about 8 new hires, as a matter of fact. Yes, I was somewhat thinking "Hmm... what's the turnover at this place if they hire 8 people at a time?" But other than myself, there was but one other designer... the rest were IT and more business-side folks. Another buisiness-side hottie was also present. Yay for landing a gig at Hot Central.

Going around the table, introducing ourselves and providing some backstory, I learned that Parking Lot Hottie was formerly employed by Microsoft. Smart and hot... mmm. I also noticed his silver wedding ring, and more than occasional eye contact. I don't get that 'straight guy' vibe from him... Either way, he's off the market, but I'm determined to be his new best friend. Beeeee my boy best friend.

My Curly-Haired Boss swung by my rather industrial cube to let us know we'll also be getting PCs (we're currently on Mac G5's -- which in all honesty, I strongly dislike. It's equipped with an old-school potato-style mouse (one button) which drives me mad). I'm pleased to know this, since I much prefer functionality and familiarity in interface to a stylish chassis and glassy icons. My cube is much more spacious and private than my former situation aboard the doomsday vessel. The other new designer is kinda like my cube-buddy -- however there's enough distance to provide us privacy.

For my MSN Messenger pals, I expect to be out of commission for awhile.

Beyond the new job, I believe the Borderline Bear and I will drift into the world of acquaintence friendship, since discovering interesting isn't his best quality.

Friday I received a package from Emiloo. She sent me a colander... it's a thing I can wash my grapes in without fear of spillage!!! Attempting to return the favor by mailing her a gnome-carrying ceramic dragonfly, the guy at the UPS store dropped and broke it. I only hope to replace it during my next Cracker Barrel trip.


Diaryland.com