04/28/2005
You give me hope

He doesn't come from where I do. -- well he does, but he doesn't. We grew up similarly, but when I came out (at a ripe 'ole age of 17), I ventured into the gay world. He never did that. Still doesn't do that. I never realized how much that decision affects us. At 32 he isn't jaded, or angry or suspicious or sleazy... basically any of those things we gay-familiars expect to encounter on a given Saturday night.

He invited me to see a band in Plano tonight... so I gladly cut short my usual Alias/Lost night with The Young Couple and accepted. He picked me up, magical eyes shining as brightly as before, and we drove a good 20 minutes north to "Love & War in Texas" -- seriously... that was the name of the bar. There was a large outdoor area with picnic tables and a stage, and the weather was perfect for our few beers and loud music. He actually had quite a few friends there, with whom we sat. It was a very easy, laid-back evening. I enjoyed seeing him in his element and having a few strokes of the overall picture painted.

On the ride home, we were stuck in traffic due to some sort of wreck. We chatted about our pasts, favor of windows-down driving vs. AC and we revisited our initial meeting the other night. It was comfortably eerie when he told me "there was something different about you" -- since, as you recall, that was my exact thought about him. He then said something that felt unworthy for my ears... "I don't know what's going to happen between you and me... but if nothing else... you give me hope."

I could go on for paragraphs trying to paint his picture, but I'd still fall short. Just know that this is someone special. I hope special for me, but if not, definitely special for someone.

I am equally as terrified as I am excited.


Diaryland.com